There was a public energy information webinar organised by Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative (ECTC) in association with Templemore Community Development Association (TCDA) on Thursday 14th May.

Householders learned about how to save money on energy costs and home heating, details of grants available for energy upgrades and community owned renewable energy projects. The event was organised in association with Templemore Community Development Association. Speakers included representatives from Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative, Drombane Upperchurch Energy Team, SOLA Energy Solutions, EV Chargers & Wind Turbine Trees and Community Power, Ireland’s first community owned electricity supplier.

Since 2012, Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative CLG (ECTC) has upgraded over 800 homes and secured almost €9 million in investment for Tipperary, with funding from Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland. All presided over by a volunteer board of community directors. As a not-for-profit company, ECTC’s mission is to allow communities in Tipperary and surrounding areas, to create local employment and community benefit through reducing their carbon footprint and generating community-owned energy.

ECTC can trace its beginnings back to 2011 when the Drombane/Upperchurch Energy Project was initiated by the Drombane Village Group, which sought to stimulate economic activity within the parish of Drombane/Upperchurch. A number of other communities got involved and ECTC was formally founded in 2014 together with Birdhill Tidy Towns, Cappamore Development Association, Kilcommon/Rearcross Energy Team, Lorrha/Rathcabbin Energy Team, Terryglass Improvements Group, Kantoher and Burgess.

ECTC is a proud founding partner of Community Power, Ireland’s first community owned electricity supplier. It is a partnership of community energy organisations around Ireland working to create a sustainable energy future for their local areas. The communities are working on saving energy, retrofits, microgeneration and developing plans for renewable energy generation. The group grew out of Templederry, which is Ireland’s first and only community owned wind farm. It is a partnership of community energy groups from Tipperary, Limerick, Galway, Mayo and Dublin and is now working to support more renewable energy projects across Ireland, and will buy electricity from small suppliers.


Contact details for the presenters are below:

Contact: Marcella Maher Keogh, Project Coordinator, ECTC: email – or phone: 086 1080356

Derry O Donnell, Development Coordinator, ECTC & Community Power: email – or phone 089-9546808

Gearóid Fitzgibbon, Community Energy Mentor, SEAI, email – or phone 085-7409023

Paul O Brien, SOLA Energy 0504-58750, email:

Hugh Hall, ePower, phone: 021-2430300, email:

webinar templemore